Lupine Hills


I’m in a coffee shop on my lunch break, watching the rain pour down, and the hands on the clock inch closer towards class time.

It’s Christmas Eve, yet I’m having a hard time feeling like the holiday has finally arrived.

I spent the first three hours of my day practicing for a Christmas performance tomorrow, where my kindergarten class will sing and dance to “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer.”

After lunch I will lead my nursery class in Jingle Bells, until the school day is over.

For weeks I have been doing Christmas themed activities, art, and games with my students, but it just doesn’t feel like Christmas here.

This is my second Christmas away from my family, and I am finding that although I am not homesick, there are some things that I am really missing. I miss the way our Christmas tree glows in the center of the living room that we are only allowed to use during this time of the year. Our “fancy” room. I miss my Mom’s Christmas decorations and candles all over the house, the same that she has been using since my childhood. I miss hearing the bickering over who is going to hang the lights outside and whether or not we should do it differently than the year before. I miss putting on Christmas music, and hearing someone else complain about how they don’t want to listen to it, that it is tacky or annoying. I miss baking Christmas cookies, decorating cookies, burning cookies and most of all eating cookies. I miss my Mom and Dad pretending to be Santa, even though I stopped believing in him over a decade and a half ago. I miss looking under the Christmas tree and seeing all of the gifts wrapped in the exact same paper, and my mom not writing any names on them, therefor making the opening process a complete surprise.

I’m not homesick, but I miss my family.

The holidays are meant to be spent with the people you love most, and if you are with family and friends during this time of the year, tell them you love them and don’t take their company for granted.

You could be on the other side of the world.

Have a Merry Christmas and a happy holiday.

17933_418581280452_5954336_n

47633_10150335349265453_1759412_n

526696_10151555670840453_1902706634_n

 

17933_418579800452_4605496_n

 

Leave a Reply

