Other Than Work

About a half mine from my home there is a Monastery situated at the bottom of one of the mountains. The Monastery is home to what seems to be about a 100 Monks of all ages. Last night I started my first night of volunteering there, working with the Novice Monks. The Novice Monks are the boys who live there because their families either can no longer support them, or they are orphans. It was a group of about 25 boys between the ages of 13-18, and I worked with three other foreigners. We worked with speaking, writing and reading in English, and then played games. They got super silly and I had a ton of fun, and I look forward to working with them for the year that I am here. Coming to Thailand I had the goal in mind to put as much of myself into the country as it gives back to me. I want to look back on my time spent here and know that I directed my effort and passions in the right way. It’s easy to forget how easily things come to us, and just all that we have and take for granted.

Leave a Reply

