Emptying My Brain: 2

Wrote the intro to a chapter, perhaps the beginning of my books chapter. Feedback please!

 

“I was fifteen the first time I put a dollar bill in my nose.” I stared back at the computer screen. At what I had just written, just admitted. Although only to myself, it was still a confession. A confession of an act that had taken place over five years ago. I glanced back at the prompt that lay on the table next to my laptop. When I started community college my Dad had gotten me my own computer. It was somewhat outdated when I bought it new, but it was the choice he had settled on. That was how my dad was, always looking for a way to save money. A way to cut corners. However, in this case, it had come to bite him in the ass. I was getting ready to transfer to a University, the laptop only a few years old, and I was already in dire need of a new one.

“Dad, everyone in college will have Macs.” Saying this with such certainty, as if I knew anyone in college, or as if I had spent any time on a University campus. “My laptop is so heavy that it will be a bitch to carry all over the place. Remember when you were there with Taylor and how many hills there were on campus and how bad your knees hurt?” Using the pain of my Dad’s knees had finally convinced him to buy me a new computer before I moved in the Fall. Perhaps he had associated the pain that shot through his own legs as he struggled with small inclines, with the pain I was suggesting would be placed on my shoulders and back, if I were to carry around this stone dinosaur he called a laptop.

In less than a year I would be joining my brother at the University of California Santa Cruz, as a junior transfer and literature major. I stared back at the prompt again. Creative Writing 101- “Describe an experience you will never forget.” The only sentence I had written glowed back at me from the screen. Am I really fucking writing this? I asked myself. Is this the best I can do?

3 comments on “Emptying My Brain: 2

Leave a Reply

