My Home-To-Be Across the World

Today I spent some time learning basic Thai words as well as simple phrases. With a month until arrival I feel as if I have enough time to pick up some very beginners Thai, so that I am not completely ignorant when I arrive.

While most of what I was learning was introductory phrases, how to ask for directions, the translation of manners, and how to ask the time, there were a few words that really stuck out to me.

Heart is pronounced- Jai

To enter is pronounced- Kao

To understand is pronounced- Kao Jai.

To understand another person, is in a sense, to enter their heart.

Leave a Reply

