Summer Nights

It’s been 24 years since I arrived here on earth. The first eight were spent in Hawaii, the next twelve in San Diego, and the last few in Santa Cruz. Although I’ve never taken the time to do anything more than childishly mess around on a skateboard, the sport has still be intertwined with my life for as long as I can remember. Especially being from Southern California, it seems that for most here skating is a life style. My teenage years were defined by hanging out with boys who skate, and this still seems to be a pattern even in the youth of my adulthood. Some of my favorite nights in high school were spent at an abandoned house- watching people skate an empty pool, legs dangling over the side, cheap beer in hand. It is a sport I have always been fascinated with, and enjoyed watching, and these pictures capture it in the most beautiful lighting. I felt as if this was a great set of photos to start the art of summer with.

5 comments on “Summer Nights

Leave a Reply

