Every day in DC is busy, very busy, and I’m not sure if I cant believe that I’ve already been here three weeks, or if it feels like I’ve been here an eternity.

My body has definitely adjusted to waking up every morning before 7am, which I’ve never really been asked to do. Being in home school for a good portion of my high school years, and then scheduling all of my classes in college in the late morning or as of recently is the late afternoon, I have always had the leisure of sleeping in. Oh how sweet sleep is. I charge through at least three cups of coffee before 2 pm. While I’ve adjusted to waking up, I still haven’t adjusted to finding a normal bedtime. Normal being anytime before midnight. People who know me well are often surprised on how little sleep I actually function on. I’m amazed. I might even call my ability to juggle my night social life with my daytime priorities a talent. One of the better skills I learned in college.

On that note, I remember being in Santa Barbara about this time last year, and reluctantly having entered a conversation with your typical Santa Barbara male, age roughly 22. The only reason we had even began talking was because he was sitting- perhaps guarding- the keg at the party, and I was waiting to fill that object that symbolizes college in its entirety… THE RED CUP. He proceeded to tell me all about how desirable UCSB graduates are  to future employers. When I questioned his absolute certainty in his statement, he further explained that any employer knows that UCSB graduates can handle anything- because they have learned how to study in the most destructively social environment. I walked away from him thinking to myself what a tool he was, but now a year later and finished with college, I’m thinking maybe his argument had some validity to it. But then again….

The first of October brought the cold weather with it. These past few days have been the coldest in DC. Saturday is really the only free day I have all week, so I decided since the weather was bad I would stroll down to the national mall, and spend a few hours at the American History museum. On the way there my umbrella was turned inside out countless times by the wind, and it did very little to protect me from any of the rain that fell from such an angle that it couldn’t be blocked by a flimsy umbrella. Steam fought its way above ground from manholes in the street. I was shivering and damp by the time I arrived at the museum about a half hour later.

It took only minutes to realize I wasn’t the only genius who had thought about going to a museum on a rainy day. Every tourist in DC as well as every parent with an annoying wet child under the age of ten had also shared my plans. After about an hour I could endure no more, so I decided to brave the cold again.

I walked home from the Capitol earlier this week, which is about 2 miles or so from my house. Walking everywhere rather than taking the metro underground helps me become better acquainted with the city. Although I am constantly turned around and somewhat confused about where my exact location is at any given time, my eyes are always wide open. My head is often tilted back, observing the breathtaking architecture that towers above me on every block. It wouldn’t even be that far of a stretch to say my mouth is often agape, and I probably appear to be in total wonder and awe. The buildings here are a mash up of new and old. Next door to a brick church that looks like it was built two hundred years ago, with spires shooting into the sky and stained-glass windows on every side, you’ll have a massive modern reflective glass building. There is so much to look at, no matter what direction you’re facing. This city has made me much more observant. Much more detail oriented. On my walk home it started to rain, despite the fact that it must have been low 80s out. It was refreshing and different than anything I’m used to, and by the time I was at my front door I was soaked, but there wasn’t a cold bone in my body.

 

When there is so much distance between two people even the sound of a person’s voice makes them feel that much closer. Too bad its just an illusion.

 

Leave a Reply

